This is the astonishing moment a young Indian bowler performed a pirouette as he ran in to bowl.
Shiva Singh’s bizarre delivery was called a dead ball by the umpire and has caused plenty of debate in the cricketing world as to whether it should have been a legal delivery or not.
But the laws of the game state that umpire Vinod Seshan was right to call the ball dead after the 360-turn, despite the fielders’ protests.
Indian bowler Shiva Singh looked all set to bowl a normal delivery during an under-23 game
But before he delivered the ball he performed a 360-turn in an attempt to distract the striker
Once that turn was completed he proceeded to bowl a normal left-arm delivery
As soon as the ball was bowled the umpire, Vinod Seshan, signalled that it was a dead ball
THE LAWS OF CRICKET
21.1.1: The umpire shall ascertain whether the bowler intends to bowl right handed or left handed, over or round the wicket, and shall so inform the striker.
41.4.1: It is unfair for any fielder deliberately to attempt to distract the striker while he/she is preparing to receive or receiving a delivery.
41.4.2: If either umpire considers that any action by a fielder is such an attempt, he/she shall immediately call and signal Dead ball and inform the other umpire of the reason for the call. The bowler’s end umpire shall
Left-arm spinner Singh ran up to the crease normally in the Indian under-23 match before performing the move in his delivery stride in an apparent attempt to put the batsman off.
Although the batsman defended the ball comfortably and did not seem distracted, Seshan was quick to call a dead ball – much to the disbelief of the bowler and fielders.
It is an action that has the world of cricket talking, but a quick read of the laws of the game prove Seshan was well within his rights as umpire to signal dead ball.
The laws state that the bowler must tell the umpire their mode of delivery before the ball is bowled, which Singh did.
But Law 41.4 says that is is unfair for any fielder to deliberately distract the striker when the bowler is running into bowl.
Following on from that, Law 41.4.2 says that an umpire should call dead ball if he believes that a fielder has tried to do just that.
Seshan called dead ball as soon as the delivery was bowled – before the batsman had played his shot – as he felt it was a deliberate attempt to distract him.
If Singh used the 360-turn every time he ran up to bowl, then it would be considered a legal delivery as it would not be an attempt at distraction.
Although it was played comfortably, Seshan felt that Singh had tried to distract the batsmen
Law 41.4 states that any attempt by a fielder to distract the striker should result in a dead ball
The bowler looks shocked at the call even though it was the correct decision by the umpire
But because he had only used it once – and it looked like a clear attempt to distract the striker – the umpire felt that it was the right time to implement the laws of the game.
Singh has since claimed that he’s used the delivery previously without being penalised.
‘I use different variations in one-dayers and T20s so I thought of doing the same because the Bengal batsmen were developing a partnership,’ Shiva told ESPNcricinfo
‘The umpires said dead ball, so I asked “why are you calling it a dead ball?”
‘I delivered this 360-degree ball against Kerala in the Vijay Hazare Trophy as well, where it was fine. Batsman always go for the reverse-sweep or the switch-hit against bowlers. But when bowlers do something like this it’s deemed a dead ball.’
As he walks away in disbelief his team-mates are quick to question Seshan’s dead ball call
The square leg umpire is needed to come across and explain the situation to the fielding side
It is not a law that is set in stone, it is up to the umpire to take all factors into consideration and make his decision.
Seshan should also have awarded five penalty runs to the batting side, although it is not clear from the video if he did that.
Singh’s Uttar Pradesh team ended up beating Bengal in the four day game, with the spinner claiming four wickets despite the dead ball call.
The most recent example of it happening at the top level came in 2009, when Stuart Broad was warned by the umpires for pointing at a fielder as he ran into bowl against South Africa.