Zimbabwe bat; Mire in for Chibhabha; SA make four changes

Toss Zimbabwe chose to bat v South Africa

Hamilton Masakadza, the Zimbabwe captain, called correctly at the toss and decided to bat first in the second T20I against South Africa at Senwes Park in Potchefstroom.

That decision didn’t bother South Africa captain Faf du Plessis too much, and he suggested that he would have bowled first anyway, with the possibility of dew later on factoring into his team’s plans.

Masakadza’s choice will probably have been affected by the pitch, which has an even covering of grass, with some dry patches and even a few small cracks, but is expected to hold together and be very good to bat on.

With Gihahn Cloete sitting out today, South Africa have reshuffled their order and Rassie van der Dussen will partner Quinton de Kock at the top of the order when South Africa chase under lights. An increasingly adaptable batsman of late, van der Dussen has opened in T20 cricket both for North West and for the Lions franchise. In fact, he’s scored three T20 hundreds in that position. Furthermore, all three were at Senwes Park.

The hosts made four changes to the XI that secured a 1-0 series lead in East London, with Heinrich Klaasen and JP Duminy slotting back into the middle order, and Robbie Frylinck and Dane Paterson coming in lower down. The latter pair will also have work to do with the ball.

The game got underway in overcast conditions, with locals suggesting that there might be a shower later. While it’s still very unlikely that the game will be rained off, the weather could have a say in proceedings later.

Zimbabwe made one change to the side that lost by 34 runs on Tuesday. Solomon Mire has recovered from the minor hand injury that kept him out of the first game. He replaces Chamu Chibhabha at the top of the order.

South Africa: 1 Quinton de Kock, 2 Rassie van der Dussen, 3 Faf du Plessis, 4 JP Duminy, 5 David Miller, 6 Heinrich Klaasen, 7 Andile Phehlukwayo, 8 Robbie Frylinck, 9 Dane Paterson, 10 Lungi Ngidi, 11 Tabraiz Shamsi

Zimbabwe: 1 Hamilton Masakadza, 2 Solomon Mire, 3 Brendan Taylor, 4 Tarisai Musakanda, 5 Sean Williams, 6 Peter Moor, 7 Elton Chigumbura, 8 Tendai Chisoro, 9 Brandon Mavuta, 10 Kyle Jarvis, 11 Chris Mpofu

Source link

قالب وردپرس

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *