Warner and Smith axed from IPL 2018

Steven Smith and David Warner will not be allowed to play in IPL 2018 because of their roles in the pre-meditated plan to tamper with the ball on the third day of the Cape Town Test against South Africa.

The decision from the BCCI – announced by IPL chairman Rajiv Shukla – came as news broke that Cricket Australia was banning the players for 12 months, in the wake of tremendous outrage over the incident at Newlands from the Australian public, the Australian government and sponsors.

Smith and Warner had already stood down as captains of their IPL franchises – Rajasthan Royals and Sunrisers Hyderabad – on Monday and Wednesday morning, but their non-participation in this season was only confirmed after they were banned by CA.

“We respect the decision of Cricket Australia, now they have banned these players for one year, keeping that in mind we have also decided in IPL these two players can’t play,” Shukla said. “In this IPL season they will not be allowed.”

More to follow

Source link

قالب وردپرس

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *