Sri Lanka bat in must-win encounter

Sri Lanka chose to bowl v South Africa

Sri Lanka Bat In Must-win Encounterplay


South Africa’s Hashim Amla looks ahead to South Africa’s 3rd ODI match vs. Sri Lanka, at Kandy

A change of venue brought a change of approach for Sri Lanka as Angelo Mathews chose to put South Africa in to bat in Pallekele. Sri Lanka won the toss for the third time, but that’s all they have won in the series so far and a need a victory here to stay alive in the series and end a losing streak that has extended to 10 ODIs against South Africa dating back to 2014.

Despite their success in the last two matches, South Africa decided to address the one soft spot in their line-up and replaced Aiden Markram, who has not crossed 20 in eight innings on the tour, with debutant Reeza Hendricks, who has 12 T20I caps to his name. Hendricks has a List A average of 37.14 and scored 59 in the tour match against the Sri Lanka Board XI before the series.

Sri Lanka made two changes to the XI that did duty in Dambulla on Wednesday. Dhananjaya de Silva was brought in for Shehan Jayasuriya and Lahiru Kumara returned from a split webbing on his left hand to replace Kasun Rajitha.

Sri Lanka: 1 Kusal Perera, 2 Niroshan Dickwella (wk), 3 Upul Tharanga, 4 Kusal Mendis, 5 Angelo Mathews (capt), 6 Dhananjaya de Silva, 7 Thisara Perera, 8 Akila Dananjaya, 9 Suranga Lakmal, 10 Lakshan Sandakan, 11 Lahiru Kumara

South Africa: 1 Quinton de Kock (wk), 2 Hashim Amla, 3 Reeza Hendricks, 4 Faf du Plessis (capt), 5 JP Duminy, 6 David Miller, 7 Wiaan Mulder, 8 Andile Phehlukwayo, 9 Kagiso Rabada, 10 Tabraiz Shamsi, 11 Lungi Ngidi

Source link

قالب وردپرس

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *