Kings XI bowl; Mujeeb Ur Rahman debuts ahead of Gayle

Toss Kings XI Punjab chose to bowl v Delhi Daredevils
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

R Ashwin, the new Kings XI Punjab captain, elected to field in warm and breezy conditions at the PCA Stadium in Mohali. The hosts picked 17-year old Mujeeb Ur Rahman ahead of Chris Gayle, meaning the Afghanistan offspinner becomes the youngest player to appear in the league.

Kings XI settled for a spin-heavy attack, with Mujeeb complementing Ashwin and Axar Patel. Aaron Finch also missed out on account of his wedding on Saturday. Marcus Stoinis, David Miller and Andrew Tye, who was brought in to address Kings XI’s death-bowling issues, completed their overseas quartet.

Daredevils were without Glenn Maxwell, who also missed out to be at his Australian team-mate Finch’s wedding. Daredevils went with Colin Munro, Daniel Christian, Chris Morris and Trent Boult as their overseas picks.

Ashwin’s decision at the toss was in keeping with the history between the two teams at this venue: four of their last five meetings in Mohali have been won by the team batting second, including their clash last year, when Daredevils were routed for 67 batting first.

Kings XI Punjab: KL Rahul (wk), Mayank Agarwal, Karun Nair, Yuvraj Singh, David Miller, Marcus Stoinis, Axar Patel, R Ashwin (capt), Andrew Tye, Mohit Sharma, Mujeeb Ur Rahman

Delhi Daredevils: Gautam Gambhir (capt), Colin Munro, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shreyas Iyer, Chris Morris, Vijay Shankar, Daniel Christian, Rahul Tewatia, Amit Mishra, Trent Boult, Mohammed Shami

Source link

قالب وردپرس

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *