Bengal's qualification hopes in mess as Jharkhand win thriller



Riyan Parag’s 45 gave Assam a good start but the target proved a bridge too far to cross. © Getty

Elite Group C

Assam vs Rajasthan

Manender Singh’s maiden List A century followed by TM ul Haq’s three-fer helped Rajasthan to a 56-run win – their first of the season – over Assam, who are still winless.

Put into bat, Rajasthan’s start wasn’t impressive, with four of their top six batters failing to register double digits. Wickets kept tumbling while Manender was waging a lone battle. He struck eight fours and a six in his 126-ball 101. He got good support from Mahipal Lomror, along with whom he stitched a 63-run stand for the sixth wicket. The all-rounder’s 53-ball 54 took the team to 217 for 7.

Assam’s reply was led by the young Riyan Prayag, but barring skipper Amit Sinha, who notched up a half century, the rest of the batting failed yet again. Prayag led the charge in the opening stand, which had put up a steady half-century. However, thereafter Chandrapal Singh and Rahul Chahar ran through their top order with two wickets apiece and had them tottering at 89 for 6. Romario Sharma and Amit Sharma helped a brief recovery with a 51-run stand but Tanveer returned to snare three and bundle them out for 161.

Brief Scores: Rajasthan 217/7 in 50 overs (Manender Singh 101, Mahipal Lomror 54; Jitumoni Kalita 2-48) beat Assam 161 in 38.4 overs (Amit Sinha 52, Riyan Prayag 45; Tanveer ul-Haq 3-27, Chaandrapal Singh 2-12) by 56 runs

Jammu & Kashmir vs Services, Chennai

Paras Sharma’s fighting 93 and Parvez Rasool’s fifer went in vain as Services carried on their merry march with their fifth win in six games to move to the top of the points table. Nakul Sharma’s maiden century (123) powered Services to a massive 322, a total that Jammu and Kashmir always found themselves struggling to chase.

Put in to bat, Services were reduced to 55 for 3 in less than 14 overs. Rajat Paliwal and Nakul revived their innings with a 150-run stand and laid the platform for a late acceleration.

The 323-run chase was always going to be a tall ask for the under-performing batting unit, and another top-order failure didn’t help matters much. Barring a 55-run stand with Rasool, Paras was left playing a solo act, with wickets tumbling. Arjun Sharma was the wrecker-in-chief with four wickets as Jammu & Kashmir bundled out for 220.

Brief Scores: Services 322 in 49 overs (Nakul Sharma 123, Rajat Paliwal 63; Parvez Rasool 5/62, Mohammed Mudhasir 2-57) beat Jammu & Kashmir 220 in 42.2 overs (Paras Sharma 93, Mohammed Mudhasir 30; Arjun Sharma 4-43, Nitin Tanwar 3-44) by 102 runs

Bengal vs Jharkhand

Jharkhand continued their undefeated run in Vijay Hazare Trophy clinching a nail-biter against Bengal, in what proved to be an anti-climatic finish with rain stopping play before the final over, where Jharkhand needed 4 runs to win with only a wicket in hand. However, due to VJD method, they were eventually declared winners by 2 runs and moved to the top of the points table. The unfortunate result for Bengal has left them in a near impossible position to make it to the quarterfinals.

Put into bat, Abhimanyu Easwaran continued his good form and stroked a 149. En route his marathon innings, he combined with skipper Manoj Tiwary to stitch a 132-run stand for the third wicket and lay a solid platform. Barring the two, none of the other batters made a worthy contribution, with five in the top eight falling for single digit scores. However, Bengal managed to reach a competitive total – 267 for 8. Varun Aaron was the pick of the bowlers, scalping three of Bengal’s top scorers.

Jharkhand began strong in the chase, with the openers adding 119 before Ishan Kishan fell for 56. Anand Singh, however, continued piling the runs and stroked his maiden List A century. However, a sudden collapse aided by Writtick Chatterjee’s triple burst and three run-outs brought Bengal back into the contest. The match was heading towards a dramatic finish before rain ruined the drama and decided the fate.

Brief Scores: Bengal 267/8 in 50 overs (Abhimanyu Easwaran 149, Manoj Tiwary 69; Varun Aaron 3-48, Shahbaz Nadeem 2-60) lost to Jharkhand 263/9 in 49 overs (Anand Singh 118, Ishan Kishan 56; Writtick Chatterjee 3-46, Manoj Tiwary 1-10) by 2 runs (VJD Method)

© Cricbuzz


Source link

قالب وردپرس

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *