Rahane dropped from ODI squad; Rahul, Kaul picked



Rahul and Rayudu are in the midst of highly-impressive IPL 2018 campaigns © AFP

Ajinkya Rahane has been left out of the 16-man ODI squad for the three-match series in England in July. KL Rahul, who is in the middle of a splendid IPL season, makes his way back while 27-year-old Punjab speedster Siddarth Kaul has been included in both, the ODI and T20I squads.

Rahane was tasked with making the No. 4 position his own earlier this year in South Africa, after a host of options since the 2017 Champions Trophy didn’t live up to expectations. The Mumbai batsman began the six-match ODI series with an 86-ball 79 that involved a match-winning partnership with Virat Kohli, but could only manage scores of 11, 8, 8 and 34* in the rest of the series. Manish Pandey, another batsman who was viewed as a potential No.4 candidate, has also missed out.

BCCI have also brought back 32-year-old Ambati Rayudu, who last played an ODI in June 2016. Like Rahul and Kaul, Rayudu too has enjoyed a fantastic IPL 2018, topping the batting charts in CSK colours. The faith in Kaul also stems from his exceptional performance for Sunrisers Hyderabad – he picked 16 wickets in 10 games last season and has 13 in the 10 so far in the ongoing season.

Impressive Tamil Nadu offie Washington Sundar has been trusted to take the spot that was previously handed to left-arm orthodox bowler Axar Patel, while the likes of Shreyas Iyer and Dinesh Karthik have retained the place.

In the T20I setup, Suresh Raina and Pandey continue to be trusted to shore up the middle-order, while Umesh Yadav – who has been amongst the wickets in IPL 2018 – makes a comeback after last featuring in the shortest format in Sri Lanka in 2012. The pace department includes the two regulars – Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar – while Jaydev Unadkat and Shardul Thakur, who played in South Africa and Sri Lanka, are a couple of absentees for the upcoming series.

More to follow…

ODI squad: Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni, Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Siddarth Kaul, Shardul Thakur, Bhuvneshwar Kumar

T20I squad: Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul,Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Siddarth Kaul, Umesh Yadav

© Cricbuzz


Source link

قالب وردپرس

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *